Located just 50 km north of Johannesburg, Pretoria is one of South Africa’s three capital cities, serving as the executive (administrative) and de facto national capital; the others are Cape Town, the legislative capital, and Bloemfontein, the judicial capital. Known as the “Jacaranda City” for the purple-flowered trees that line it’s avenues, this city is quieter and more elegant than Joburg. In addition to it’s governmental position, Pretoria is an important industrial center as well as a leading academic city, being home to the largest residential university in the country (the University of Pretoria) as well as several other institutions of higher learning. Pretoria previously had a rather sinister image as “the capital of Apartheid South Africa” but it’s political reputation was changed with the inauguration of Nelson Mandela as the country’s first black President at the Union Buildings here. However, the name Pretoria still has a negative connotation to some black South Africans, and therefore a change of name to Tshwane has been proposed. This proposed change is controversial to most of the inhabitants of the city.