Kruger National Park is undoubtedly southern Africa’s most famous game reserve and also its largest, exceeding 7300 sq. miles.

To the west and south of the Kruger National Park are the two South African provinces of Limpopo and Mpumalanga. In the north is Zimbabwe, and to the east is Mozambique. It is now part of the Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park, a peace park that links Kruger National Park with the Gonarezhou National Park in Zimbabwe, and with the Limpopo National Park in Mozambique.

The park is part of the Kruger to Canyons Biosphere, an area designated by the United Nations Education and Scientific Organization (UNESCO) as an International Man and Biosphere Reserve (the “Biosphere”).

The park is the most heavily used game reserve in southern Africa and accommodates self-catering visitors, self-drive visitors and a huge range of private camps and reserves with more exclusive access. The park is divided into six distinctive eco-systems: Baobab sandveld, Mopane scrub, Lebombo knobthorn-marula bushveld, mixed acacia thicket, Combretum-silver clusterleaf, woodland on granite and riverine forest.

There are nearly 2000 species of plants and more than 500 species of birds found at Kruger, and 147 species of mammals, making it the richest wildlife reserve in all of southern Africa. The area that the park currently encompasses was occupied by nomadic hunter-gatherers for thousands of years. People from Europe arrived here in the early eighteenth century. The first protected parts of the park were legislated in 1898, making it the oldest protected game reserve on earth.